I Am Paying the Cabbies Too Much

I weaned myself from cab rides in the morning to work middle of last year, but since March this year, I seem to have gotten into a habit of taking cab rides in the morning again.

A cab trip to work costs me around $17. A month’s worth of cab rides puts me $340 in the red. This is totally out of budget. I can well afford it, but I don’t want to. I can do a lot of things with $340 a month.

By bus, the trip takes about 75 minutes, provided I travel during non-peak periods. Which I do, but this means dragging myself out of bed at 5.30 am and getting out of the house by 6 am. It also involves two changes, which means I can’t just get on my bus and sleep my way to kingdom come. The exact same route by car, or cab in my case, takes around 20 minutes during non-peak period.

$17 dollars for 55 mins of sleep. It is hard decision to make at 5.30 am in the morning.

I have made it my crusade to go back to buses for the rest of this year. But it would be so much easier if they only made things more convenient, shorter waiting times, less changes etc. LTA is saying they will do a review of the bus system by fourth quarter of this year, and I really hope it will bring some much needed improvements.

Leave a Reply

