Preparing for Armageddon Part 1 – Data Backup

I am not sure if I am affected by the 9/11 memorials, but I obviously have Armageddon on my mind.

I have been seriously plagued by disaster scenarios in my mind the whole of last week, and logically, the likelihood of these ever becoming reality in Singapore is really quite non-existent. Well, except maybe some local flooding, but we live on the 11th storey for now, so we should be quite safe. But try telling that to my psyche.

I really think I must be suffering from some security related anxiety. Sis thinks I am being Ally Mcbeal’ish. She suggested I see a therapist about it. However, I think it would be cheaper and less time consuming to just take some steps to pacify this anxiety myself. And look less stupid/crazy in the process. 🙂

The first thing I acted on was my data. Don’t ask me why I think having sufficient digital copies of my bill payments, tax invoices, budget spreadsheets etc etc is the most important thing in the face of Armageddon. Ally McBeal ≠ Logic.

The good news was that I already have two digital copies of all my data; one on my desktop and another on an external hard drive. Someday, I will tell you the heartbreaking story of getting the data digitalized in the first place. It was a long and weary journey.

Anyway, the bad news was that the way I had organized my data was not conducive for long term storage. Worse news, I found out that I had way too long file names and quite a number of files were corrupted due to this fact. Heck, I didn’t even know that we still had length restrictions on file names once we got out of the Windows 3.1 era. Then I got into some problems with writing the information onto the CDs, which corrupted more files.

Long story short, I spent all of last Friday night and the entire Saturday doing nothing but overhauling my digital storage system. At 4 am Sunday morning, I finally had four pristinely written CDs, one full thumb-drive, one neatly organized hard disk and a nicely cleaned up PC. All my important emails had been nicely archived on a backup Gmail account. I would have archived everything on a cloud server as well, but I have trust issues (Man, I seem to have a lot of issues). Gmail is as far as I will go for now.

The battle with data backup is over and I am victorious. Stay tuned for Part 2 – The Emergency Backpack.

Leave a Reply

