iResign

I handed in my resignation letter today. After agonizing for months, I finally did it.

I have been pondering the matter for months, doing my calculations on whether I can afford to resign, considering on my next step forward, thinking about what I should do versus what I really want to do etc etc. Basically all sorts of considerations one has to take into account in order to make a proper adult decision. And I still couldn’t come to a decision.

This morning, at 8 am sharp, I opened up my work email inbox, and saw 217 unread emails over the last two days when I was out of office. I clicked on one from my department manager, read the contents, and proceeded to the toilet to hurl.

Then I sat down, typed up my resignation letter and handed it in.

I don’t know if this is the right decision finally. Financially, I think there are few places where I get paid I am getting now for the work I am doing. However, once I handed the letter over to my supervisor, I felt such a sense of peace for the first time in a long, long while, that I am convinced it is the right thing to do, although I feel really bad when I consider my current project as I will be abandoning it at a critical period.

Anyway, the deed is done, although the matter is nowhere near closed. I foresee a lot of pep talks in the next few days, as I am rather senior and have a reasonable reputation in the company. I am sure management is going to try and retain me, but I don’t know exactly what I am going to negotiate for, since everything I want points to a demotion of sorts. It would be kind of funny if I tell management the only way to keep me would be to demote me.

Keeping fingers crossed.

This entry was posted in Career.

One comment on “iResign

  1. […] caused some health issues, and a slight depression, and finally ended in me saying “Demote me or I’m leaving ”. I can’t help but think that it is karma from all the grief I gave all my various bosses over […]

Leave a Reply

