Various

I finally remembered to count out my Ang Pao earnings now that Chinese New Year is over. I ended with a mini windfall of SGD 742 and Malaysian Ringgit 310. I gave $200 to each parent for my CNY Ang Pao to them, so I’m in still in the black by several hundred dollars. It was a very good haul.

To be frank, I don’t feel good about receiving Ang Paos for CNY these days. I am thirty three and working at a good job. It doesn’t feel quite right that I should be getting Ang Paos any longer, even though I am not married. After all, they are originally meant for kids. The thing is, my parents hand them out to people’s kids and these people feel they need to reciprocate. Since my parents have no young children or grandkids, my sister and I get it all.

Anyway, I decided to put the money aside for the end-of-year charity pot, just to salve my conscience a bit.

I have also started playing the international competitive rules for this game again, after a hiatus of more than a year.

We originally stopped playing because some of the players got busy with life and we couldn’t find more players locally. However, my best buddy and fellow player started teaching the game in community centres and now has a good enough following to have weekly games going. So I get to play again. (By the way, I am not trying to be coy here, but there are few enough people playing this version of this game locally that I may be easily outed and identified if I used the game by its proper name.)

Each session is $5, so I have to fork out $30 for about 6 sessions a month. Well, it is a small enough cost to get me out of the house and do some socializing, as well as keeping my brains nimble. $30 a month is a small price to pay to avoid Alzheimers, I guess.

There is an international tournament coming up in November in China and we are thinking of forming a team and participating. I am not too sure if I will want to go, or even if I can, given all the upcoming changes at work. I missed the 2010 tournament, so I am kind of keen to participate in this one. We’ll see how it goes.

And with that, life goes on.

Leave a Reply

