Missed RE Opportunity

There is a potential real estate investment that I will have to miss because I don’t have enough cash. I need to pony up about $600,000 in cash if I make the purchase under my name. The investment will yield an almost immediate gain of $260,000, not counting any further capital appreciation.

Even if I liquidate all my stocks and empty out all my cash sources, I can probably only scrabble together about $130,000 in cash right now.

It really takes money to make money.

About eight other friends and acquaintances will be investing. The only comfort I can give myself right now is that even in my “profligate” youth, I haven’t wasted so much money as to have been able to cover the difference in order to make the investment. There will at least be no “what ifs” and “if onlys” this time.

I have received some advice to talk to my parents and ask them to help and for us all the share in the gain, but I am not willing to do that. One, I can’t justify jeopardizing my parents’ savings so close to their retirement, and two, if I can’t do this by myself, there is really no point in doing it at all.

Well, as long as I continue to save, there will be other great opportunities, and I will be in a position to take advantage of them. I have to make my own luck in this case.

At this point in time though, this couple keeps popping into my mind. I could so use that moolah right now…..

Leave a Reply

