Random Stuff

Once again, some random thoughts/rants that do not a full post make:

1)      Writing an instruction manual is an exercise in stupidity. Or rather, writing the warnings portion. We think, “Bah, no one will be so lacking in common sense as to do that.” And then we talk to the service people, and find out that people did that and more. It is one of those things that are simultaneously entertaining and torturous – coming up with ways people can use your product stupidly. Almost on par with working in technical call-centers, I think.

2)      I had one general manager of a partner company send a brand new marketing executive (with no technical background) to our highly technical engineering discussion the other day to take notes for her department, because all her engineers were not available. Why she would assume that some fresh graduate with no technical background would be able to follow a highly technical discussion and take meaningful notes is beyond me. Why didn’t she just ask us for our file notes? While most engineers may not have good writing skills, I am sure it beats the blank pages that the marketing executive ended up with.

3)      Once again, I have been told that I don’t know what I am missing regarding something I have not experienced. This has always been a source of puzzlement for me. Sure, I don’t know what I am missing. If I don’t know what I am missing, then I am surely not missing it. In fact, I don’t even think about it. It has no impact on my life. I am already so busy trying to get on the wagon with the things that I know I am missing, why should I mourn something that I don’t know?

4)      Actually, I have been also been told that I don’t know what I am missing when it comes to something I have experienced. And I get even more confused. Such as when I tell people I don’t drink alcohol, or eat seafood. I don’t drink alcohol or eat seafood because I don’t like the taste and texture of these items. And I know I don’t like the taste and texture because I have tried them before. So I know what I am missing but the thing is I don’t miss them. So, your point again?

5)      HR wants my boss to tell one of our subordinates that her dressing is inappropriate. My boss thinks I should be the one to do it, because I am a woman and it will come better from me. Seriously? No, thanks. Especially when the lady in question is a lot better looking than I. I don’t want to be known as that bitch. I especially don’t want to be known as that jealous bitch.

Leave a Reply

