My New Phone & I

Two months ago, my mobile phone died. It happened so suddenly that I had no opportunity to do any research on the new phones that I would care to have.

My top boss had been making noises about me getting a smart phone so I can start pushing mail. I, on the other hand, had been acting blur and trying to put it off as long as possible. I really don’t see why I should have access to email 24/7. I am either at work or home 90% of the time and can read and answer mail through my computers. That I don’t necessarily do so at home, has nothing to do with access, but more of my not wanting to do it. I am off work after all! Then, those other times when I am out with friends, in the gym – those are the times when I least want to have work email to answer!

And also, the data plan! My present company will pay for the data plan, no worries. But what happens if I should leave, for any reason? I HATE, HATE, HATE getting used to a convenience, and then having to cut it out of my life later. Why sign up for the pain when I don’t have to?

So anyway, my phone died. And I didn’t want to buy a new non-smart phone in case I lose the battle with my boss. I also didn’t want to cave and buy a new smart phone, and without even having time to research one.

So as a stop-gap measure, I walked into the phone store and told the guy, ”I want to buy the cheapest phone you have in the shop. All it needs to do is to be able make calls and send texts.”

I got stared at by the non-plussed guy for a while. Apparently no one buys phones this way in this era.

I ended up with this little beauty – that I haven’t seen anyone use in a while. It cost me only $35 bucks.

HP Pic

The Ancient Relic

The guy warned me that this phone comes with no warranty. The next cheapest one that does is $70 bucks. Whatever. If this one breaks, I’ll just buy another one, and I’ll still come out even. But I never had a Nokia phone break on me yet, especially these older models.

And I am enjoying the hell out of it.

It’s small, it’s light, I don’t have to worry about dropping it, I don’t have to worry anyone wants to steal and fence it, there is no learning curve, I am still perfectly contactable and my phone bill remains at the affordable rate of $21.25 per month. And it comes with a built in flash light! Really!

So it stopped being a stop-gap measure, and I will fight to the death before I am forced to trade it in for a smart phone.

I think I’m smart enough by myself anyway.

One comment on “My New Phone & I

  1. You go girl! I hate it that my company wants me to be in constant contact with them. I’m on call and they want me to have e-mailed pushed to my phone. I refused the e-mail, but can’t refuse being on call unfortunately. My first phone was a little nokia and I loved it. It was the best service I’ve ever had (no dropped call, no static). Rock that old school phone!

Leave a Reply

