And Going Forward…

One consequence I didn’t really foresee when I took my long break from work was that I would have no income history for 2014.

How is that important?

Well, it just so happens that I may need to look into refinancing for the condo this year.

I am in a bit of a dilemma here, because I cannot really predict the rates of increase. At the moment, I am paying about 1.2% interest, and fixed rates are at around 2+% if I am not wrong (haven’t done my due diligence yet).

The rest of the world is printing money like crazy, but the US has eased off its QE, so I can’t really predict the way interest rates are going to go.

However, the whole thing might be moot if I can’t show a healthy income sheet for 2014. And that is just one headache I have come back to.

My condo lease is up again this coming April, and the rental market is pretty soft right now, so I am not optimistic for the coming year. It is also not a great time to sell, so I have to hang in there for a couple of years more.

I have a small idea though. The condo layout is such that I can cordon off a small part of the place and make it my own tiny studio with my own entrance, while continuing to rent out the rest of the place. If my current tenant decides not to continue the lease, I might just take a couple of months and turn this into reality. The condo is much nearer to my place of work and I would finally be done with the 5.30 am wake up calls and daily 3 hr commutes. And I would finally have a place of my own.

The next most urgent thing is to just work, replenish my coffers, and throw the excess into stocks. This is the year for stocks, I think, given all the liquidity floating around the globe. However, I have to confess that it has been a little hard to adjust to working life after bumming around for so long; I must be really suited to the life of a wastrel. I miss not having to get up to the sound of the alarm clock. Oh well, it’s just nine more years…

Oh, and more money saving! The new company gym had been completed in my absence, and now I can go cancel my gym membership. There is even a free personal trainer at the company gym, and I don’t have to travel anywhere! There is also now a massage service at the company, at the cheap, cheap price of $38 an hour, so that’s probably where some of those saving’s going to go. They certainly are making it hard for me to think about resigning…

And that is the plan for this year. Earn as much as I can, save as much as I can and lose some weight in the process. Let’s just hope the doing is as simple as the planning.

3 comments on “And Going Forward…

  1. Ah Q says:

    Hi, I’m glad you are back. I’m a single lady who just got a HDB flat (lotsa jitters there….hurhur). I admire your discipline with money and hope to hear more from you on this blog. 😉

    • Miss JJ says:

      Hi,
      Ah Q…nice name! I can be very Ah Q at times too…

      Thanks for your comment. I am a fan of single ladies, since I am one myself. I have quite a few single lady friends, who have all gotten on very well financially. I actually have a half finished post on this topic…if I can get my lazy ass to finish it and post!

      Hope to keep hearing from you!

  2. 15hourworkweek says:

    Hi Miss JJ,

    Would pop by once in a while hoping to see some updates and I am not disappointed today!

    Hope everything’s fine. To think that we took sabbaticals at around the same time…

Leave a Reply

