Breaking Radio Silence

It’s the week of mourning for the foremost of our founding fathers, Mr Lee Kuan Yew. Although I had previously expected to be quite unemotional when the time came, I surprised myself by being rather teary-eyed for most of this week.

I’m not going to attempt a tribute post here, because I think what needs to be said has already been said by many others, and in a far better way then I ever could. I admire his genius immensely, and my political views run along very similar lines. While I don’t agree with everything he has ever done, I do respect his “make-no-apology” attitude.

When it comes to the building of my beloved country, however, I am always cognizant of the fact that it was a team effort, and there were some really talented and upstanding men in the founding group. I don’t think Singapore would have been what she is today without any of them (In fact, my sympathies have always lain with Dr Goh Keng Swee, all-rounder superman). I think most of my emotions this week were more to do with the fact that Mr Lee was the last of them, rather than any feeling of gratitude to Mr Lee personally.

Anyway, rest in peace, sir. And I wouldn’t mind if you would keep your promise to rise again if you see anything going wrong with Singapore.

Really.

2 comments on “Breaking Radio Silence

  1. anon says:

    Glad to see you are back! Wish you luck on achieving your financial goals but it seems like you are looking for a little more out of life than that. Haha. All the best!

  2. Revanche says:

    Just checking back to see how you’re doing these days. You’ve piqued my interest as I don’t know much about Singapore’s history, I’ll have to do some reading one of these days.

Leave a Reply

